Amberley Publishing - Transport, Military, Local and General History

The Lifeboat Service in Scotland

Station by Station

Availability: Out of stock

Author: Nicholas Leach

The history of the lifeboat service in Scotland is one of outstanding bravery and tragedy. Bravery, exemplified in the Gold medal-winning rescues by the Peterhead lifeboat in 1942 and Lerwick lifeboat in 1997. And tragedy, when lifeboat men gave their lives at Arbroath, Fraserburgh, Longhope and elsewhere to help others in distress. Scotland's lifeboat men and women have displayed courage, dedication to duty and a willingness to help seafarers since the early years of the nineteenth century. This comprehensive new book looks in detail at the work of the lifeboat stations in Scotland past and present. The RNLI currently operates forty-seven stations in Scotland and this volume contains details of every one, with information about their history, rescues and current lifeboats. Author Nicholas Leach has amassed a wealth of information about Scotland's lifeboats and lifeboat stations, past and present, visiting every one of the country's lifeboat stations to provide a complete and up-to-date record of life-saving in the seas off the rugged and beautiful, but often treacherous, Scottish coast.

Book ISBN 9781445613390

Book Format Paperback

pages 192 pages

Publication Date 31 Oct 2013

Height 234

Width 165

Illustrations 465

Regular Price: £15.99

Special Price: £14.39

Newsletter Signup

Top 5 Sellers


Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register