Altrincham Through Time
Series: Through Time
- Steven Dickens
15th November 2016
The market town of Altrincham, historically a part of Cheshire but now part of the metropolitan borough of Trafford, has a rich history. The name Altrincham is derived from Old English, meaning the homestead of Aldhere’s people. The Roman road to Chester ran through Altrincham, but there is no evidence that the Romans ever settled in the market town. Altrincham’s market was created by charter in 1290 and in medieval times a court leet was established. The town eventually became a borough in 1886, with an elected council.
Hamon de Massey was given land in the area by William the Conqueror and the de Masseys remained influential until the male line died out in the fifteenth century. From the de Masseys the estate passed to Robert del Boothe of Barton upon Irwell and in 1627 the Earls of Stamford became Lords of the Manor, rebuilding Dunham Massey Hall, which they left in 1855, returning to Altrincham 1906. The estate was bequeathed to the National Trust in 1976. Join local historian Steven Dickens as he looks at this history and shows, through a beautiful collection of photographs, how this charming market town has altered over time.