Woolton History Tour

Woolton History Tour

A-Z of Truro

A-Z of Truro

A-Z of Bungay


Series: A-Z

Publication Date15th November 2020

Book FormatPaperback





Explore the Suffolk town of Bungay in this fully illustrated A-Z guide to its history, people and places.
Regular Price £15.99 Online Price: £14.39
Availability: In stock

The medieval Suffolk market town of Bungay on the River Waveney was dominated by its castle, owned by the Bigod family, the Earls of Norfolk, and its Benedictine priory. The town prospered through its river trade and other local industries and was also known for the mysterious attack by the hellhound Black Shuck on the church congregation during a thunderstorm in 1577. The black dog was subsequently incorporated in the town’s coat of arms. Although much of the town was destroyed in the fire of 1688, it was soon rebuilt and became fashionable in the eighteenth century, earning the nickname of ‘Little London’, and further changes came to Victorian Bungay with the growth of the printing industry in the town, which developed into the well-known R. Clay & Sons. Although the town suffered during the agricultural decline and loss of other industries in the early twentieth century, it is now a thriving centre for new shops and businesses in the area.

In A–Z of Bungay author Christopher Reeve delves into the history of the town. He highlights well-known landmarks and famous residents, and also digs beneath the surface to uncover some of the lesser-known facts about Bungay and its hidden places of interest. This fascinating A–Z tour of Bungay’s history is fully illustrated with photography and will appeal to all those with an interest in this Suffolk town.

Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account